By Patrick Avenell

SYDNEY: The nominees for two major ERA retail awards were announced this morning, with Harvey Norman, the Good Buys, Bing Lee, Winnings, Clive Peeters and Elite Appliances all gunning  for Store of the Year awards.

Only the New South Wales and Tasmanian finalists were made available for print today, with the remaining states’ nominees expected to be made public early next week. It is set to be a very tense night at the ceremony with some big rivalries among the nominees.

In the New South Wales and ACT category, two Harvey Norman stores have been nominated, Fyshwick (ACT) and Auburn. Making the grade for Bing Lee is its Old Guildford store, while Winnings Redfern and Nash Patel’s Good Guys at Castle Hill make up the elite group.

In Tasmania, Harveys has done even better, with three nominations. Hobart, Launceston and Cambridge Park are all representing Gerry’s mob, while Clive Peeters at Moonah and Elite Appliances in Hobart will be looking to cause an upset.

The winners will be announced in Sydney on 17 April 2009.