By James Wells

MELBOURNE: Harvey Norman awarded state franchisee of the year awards to Nowra, Bundall, City Cross, Moorabbin and Oconnor at the group’s gala dinner in Melbourne last night.

The winner of New South Wales and Australian Capital Territory franchisee of the year was Bryan Cocks from Nowra, who was recognised for turning a loss-making store into a highly profitable business.

The South Australian and Northern Territory franchisee of the year was Paul Zollo from City Cross in Adelaide, who was recognised for embracing the company’s strategy for convergence.

Joe D’Angelo from Harvey Norman in Moorabbin was awarded best franchisee in Victoria and Tasmania. D’Angelo was recognised for supporting young franchisees in training and turning around a loss-making store into a seven-figure income.

In Queensland, Steve Cavalier was awarded the best franchisee in the state, with Harvey Norman general manager – electrical, David Ackery recognising the consistent performance of the store.

"When you’re the best, you deserve to win it. Steve’s the best and he deserves to win it," Ackery said.

Bret Davies from Harvey Norman Oconnor was presented with the award for best franchisee for the second consecutive year in the booming state of Western Australia. Ackery said that it was a difficult choice due to the strong performance of so many stores.