SYDNEY, NSW & CANBERRA, ACT: The Rudd Government today announced the appointment of two additional directors to the board of NBN, the company established to deliver the National Broadband Network.

In a Government media release this morning, it was said the two new appointees, Clem Doherty and Terrence Francis, will broaden the strong commercial and industry experience on the NBN Co board.

“NBN Co is playing an important role planning and deploying the National Broadband Network and I am confident we have in place a great board to direct that vital activity," said the Minister Steven Conroy.

"I am very pleased to welcome the appointment of Mr Doherty and Mr Francis as NBN Co directors and am sure they will make a great contribution."

The two new directors will join the executive chair, Mike Quigley, and the five existing NBN board members.

"I am delighted that the two directors have agreed to commence their roles immediately. They will join the existing board in setting the strategic direction for the company and its senior management," said Finance and Deregulation Minister Lindsay Tanner.