By James Wells

BRISBANE: Betta Stores Retail officially announced the people who will run the new business, following the decision not to keep BSL chief executive officer, Guy Houghton and BSL chief operating officer, Ian Mursell.

There will be 35 administration staff, short of the 40 estimated during the bidding process for the franchise business.

In a statement obtained by, the former BSL member responsible for the member buy-out, Everard Johnson, said that it was not possible to keep all staff from the previous organisation and reflected on the contributions of those people who helped to build the brand from a personnel perspective.

“The only unfortunate aspect of today’s events is that we were unable to take with us, all of the staff from the national and state offices. The new company will be a lean and cost effective organisation and as a result we are only able to take on those people who are associated with the activities of the new model. This is not a reflection of past performances rather the reality of what a new business will look like.”

Johnson confirmed that an interim board will include himself, Garry Thyer, Rex Graham as well as the reappointment of former BSL company secretary Nicole Quinn.

Other appointments include:

General Manager – Ian Brown

Buying & Marketing Department:

General Manager- Gerald Squire
Marketing Manager- Julieanne Smith
Advertising Manager- Kathy Hagan
Category Mangers- Simon Bright, Tracey Cosgrove, Mark Blond, Ian Van Engelen
Support Team- Angela Kelly, Gemma Atkins, Brian Weychardt, Vanda Boughton, Karen Mclennan

Finance Department:

Financial Controller- Laura Fanning
Financial Accountant- Ben Cleary
Management Accountant- Stuart Nash
Accounts Receivable- Judy Gray, Melanie Wheaton
Accounts Payable- Sophie Ackland
Senior Account- Natasha King
Payroll- Eleanor Lay

IT Department:

Tony Lisle, Peter Kiem, Brett Chapman, David Cummings, Jackson Schroeder, Anthony Bydeveldt, Lynley Stapleton

Reception & Help Desk:

Kathy DiPianto, Lauren Kemp, Lindsay Richardson

Franchise Support Services:

Aaron Tiako, Dermott Fearon, Paul De Zubicaray, Bianna Best