Harvey Norman has appointed Luisa Catanzaro as a non-executive director, bringing more than 30 years of experience in senior finance executive roles across a range of industries including FMCG and agriculture sectors, to the board.

She will succeed Graham Paton who has been on the board since 2005 and her appointment will be formalised by shareholders at the Harvey Norman annual general meeting on November 25, 2020.

Catanzaro is currently a non-executive director of ASX listed company, Ricegrowers Limited (SunRice), chair of the finance, risk and audit committee and member of the remuneration and nomination committees.

She was chief financial officer of Lynas Corporation Limited for over three years at a time it was raising capital and establishing operations in Malaysia. She was also chief financial officer and company secretary of Dairy Farmers for four years between 2005 and 2009 and was involved in the IPO of The Agricultural Company Limited in her three-year tenure from 2001 and 2004.

Prior to these roles, Catanzaro was a senior finance executive at Pioneer International Limited.

Harvey Norman welcomed its first independent non-executive director in 14 years in March 2019, with the appointment of former Accenture partner, John Craven, who had more than 40 years of management consulting and information technology experience.