By Patrick Avenell

DHL Supply Chain Australia is the first of the three approved E-Waste recyclers to announce a start-date and location for the collection of obsolete TVs and PC hardware, with Canberra the first Australian city to be serviced.

In a joint announcement today by Federal Senator Don Farrell and ACT Chief Minister Katy Gallagher, a 15 May 2012 commencement date was revealed, as were two transfer stations in the national capital: Mugga Lane and Mitchell.

“DHL Supply Chain is the first industry arrangement administrator to identify collection sites and deliver services in the ACT under the new national e-waste scheme,” Gallagher said.

“There are already two other approved providers under the scheme, which means more options for the consumer and more jobs in the recycling industry.”

The other two recyclers are the industry group Australia and New Zealand Recycling Platform and E-Cycle Solutions, which is owned by established industry specialist QLS Logistics.

Click here to sign up for our FREE daily newsletter
Follow on Twitter

DHL Supply Chain has thus far announced only one manufacturing partner: Sony Australia. Under the terms of the National Television and Computer Recycling Scheme, all importers of TVs into Australia must align themselves with one of the approved recyclers.

The two transfer stations identified as dropzones will accept both CRT and flat panel TVs, PCs, printers, keyboards, mice and hard drives. A media release announcing this program said the stations are open Sunday to Saturday from 7:30am to 5pm.

TV & PC Recycling Scorecard (30 April 2012)


Panasonic Australia


Sony Australia

E-Cycle Solutions

Retravision (strategic partnership)