By Claire Reilly

SYDNEY, NSW: Senator Stephen Conroy, the Minister responsible for the switchover to digital television, yesterday announced that residents of areas across regional Queensland will have access to new locally-focused information on the service.

Conroy announced the appointment of a group of Digital Switchover Liaison Officers who will offer advice to residents in their local areas regarding the switch to digital TV.

Officers have been appointed for the regions of North Queensland, Far North Queensland, the Queensland Central Coast and Whitsundays, Wide Bay, Capricornia and Darling Downs.

Click here to sign up for our FREE daily newsletter

Speaking about the new positions, Senator Conroy said the officers “will play an important role in ensuring the community has the information it  needs to get ready for digital TV and that the switchover is a success”.

The officers will “work with local organisations and community groups to raise awareness of the switch from analogue to digital-only free-to-air  television and advise residents how to get ready for digital TV”.

The new information and advice program is being funded by the Australian government, and will support the roles of officers in all six switchover areas throughout regional Queensland.

List of Digital Switchover Liaison Officers, as provided by the office of Senator Conroy:

North Queensland – Melissa Wick.
Far North Queensland – Simon Grant.
Queensland Central Coast and Whitsundays – Marc Turner.
Wide Bay – Murray Smith.
Capricornia – David Murchie.
Darling Downs – Marc  Leman and Bryan Gray.

Residents wishing to contact their local officer can do so through the Digital Ready Information Line on 1800 20 10 13.