Harvey Norman scoops ERA awards pool but The Good Guys spoil their party

By Martin Vedris

SYDNEY: As with last year’s ERAs, Harvey Norman again won the highest number of retailer awards but the group’s dominance was pulled back a few notches this year with the Good Guys taking out the major Retail Group Of The Year award.

Harvey Norman won all but two of the state awards for Retail Store Of The Year last year, with Clive Peeters and Retravision winning Tasmania and WA respectively. This year, The Good Guys joined Clive Peeters and Retravision in each winning a state award, leaving Harvey Norman taking out the balance. And although Harvey Norman lost some of its stranglehold, all of its winners last year won again this year.

So the stores in each state and territory who won Retail Store Of The Year are:

  • NSW/ACT: The Good Guys, Castle Hill
  • Qld: Harvey Norman, Bundall
  • Vic: Harvey Norman, Chadstone
  • Tas: Clive Peeters, Moonah
  • SA: Harvey Norman, Marion
  • WA: Retravision, Malaga
  • NT: Harvey Norman, Darwin

The major retail awards were shared by Harvey Norman and The Good Guys, with Harvey Norman proprietor Nick Karasoulos winning both his state and the national retailer awards. The winners of the major retail awards for 2008 are:

  • Retail Store Of The Year: Harvey Norman, Marion
  • Retail Group Of The Year: The Good Guys

The June issue of ‘Appliance Retailer’ magazine will contain a full souvenir report of the ERAs evening including photos of all the award winners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *