BSL announces store of the year awards

By James Wells in Fiji

FIJI: Betta Stores Limited (BSL) recognised Horsham Betta Electrical, Chandlers Mackay and Harris Scarfe at its annual awards ceremony last night in Fiji.

The awards ceremony, conducted by BSL CEO Guy Houghton and BSL chairman Patrick Tynan, closed the three day event, which commenced on Sunday.

The winner of Betta Electrical Store of the Year was Horsham. Collecting the award, store owner Greg Souter said he was speechless after receiving the award.

The winner of the Chandlers Store of the Year once again went to Everard Johnson and Ian Murden for their Mackay store. Johnson and Murden took to the stage with their families and told the assembled delegates that the win was a tribute to the team effort which included staff and family.

The award for best unidentified BSL store, within the $100 million Betta Buying Associates division, was Harris Scarfe which operates 24 stores nationally.

Other awards presented on the evening recognised the contribution by major suppliers to the group.

Electrolux Home Products won the award for best whitegoods supplier, Dyson won the inaugural award for best floorcare supplier, Panasonic won the award for best consumer electronics supplier, Sunbeam won the award for best portable appliances supplier and the major award for supplier of the year was won by LG Electronics.

A special presentation was made to retiring directors Reg Cain – who is leaving the BSL board after seven years of service and Neville Sutherland – who is leaving the BSL board after 25 years of service.

Both directors acknowledged the hard work of the BSL management team and encouraged members in attendance and absent from the conference to support the initiatives which are intended to increase sales and improve compliance across the group.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *